UCI Affiliates

If you would like to join our list of affiliates, please fill out this form.

Nancy Aguilar-Roca
Associate Teaching Professor
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
nmaguila@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Assessing specific teaching strategies, reducing performance gaps.

Rachel Baker
Assistant Professor
Education
rachelbb@uci.edu
Webpage

Interest: how students choose classes and majors, student success and persistence in courses and majors.

Bernard Choi
Professor
Biomedical Engineering
choib@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Active learning

Damon Clark
Associate Professor
Economics
clarkd1@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Motivation, Community College

Penelope Collins
Associate Professor
Education
p.collins@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Digital teaching/learning, Literacy, Writing, Linguistic diversity

Gary Coyne
Principal Research Analyst
OVPTL
coyneg@uci.edu

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Retention

Quoc-Viet Dang
Assistant Professor of Teaching
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
qpdang@uci.edu
Website

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Retention, Inclusive teaching, Motivation, Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences (CUREs), Active learning, Community College

Newby Dart
Staff
Pediatrics
Dnewby@uci.edu

Interests: Remediation, Inclusive teaching, Motivation, Active learning, Team Based Learning

Chris Davis
Associate Teaching Professor
Math
daviscj@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Digital teaching/learning, Retention, Inclusive teaching, Active learning

Kameryn Denaro

Research Specialist
Division of Teaching Excellence and Innovation
kdenaro@uci.edu

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Retention, Inclusive teaching, Motivation, Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences (CUREs), STEAM, Active learning

Anna-Lena Dicke
Associate Research Specialist
School of Education
adicke@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Retention, motivation

David Dimas
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
ddimas@uci.edu

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Remediation, Retention, Inclusive teaching, Motivation, STEAM, Active learning, Community College

Mine Dogucu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
Statistics
mdogucu@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Inclusive teaching, STEAM, Active learning

Qian Du
Assistant Professor of Teaching
Academic English
qiand1@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Inclusive teaching, Motivation, Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences (CUREs), Active learning

Derek Dunn-Rankin
Professor and Chair
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
ddunnran@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Motivation, STEAM

Jessica Garrison
Staff
UCI “Campus as a Living Lab”
jdgarris@uci.edu

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Active learning

Heidi Hardt
Assistant Professor
Political Science
hhardt@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Retention, Inclusive teaching

Patrick Hong
Engineering
pphong@uci.edu
Website

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Remediation, Retention, Inclusive teaching, Motivation, Social psychology, Active learning, Community College

Sandy Irani
Professor
Computer Science
irani@ics.uci.edu
Website

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Inclusive teaching, Motivation

Sandy Irani
Professor
Computer Science
irani@ics.uci.edu
Website

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Inclusive teaching, Motivation

Angela Jenks
Associate Professor of Teaching
Anthropology
ajenks@uci.edu
Website

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Inclusive teaching, Community College

Jesse Jackson
Associate Professor
Art
jesse.colin.jackson@gmail.edu
Website

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, STEAM, Active learning

Nathan Kaplan
Associate Professor
Math
nckaplan@math.uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Retention, Inclusive teaching, Motivation, Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences (CUREs), STEAM, Active learning

Christine King
Assistant Teaching Professor
Biomedical Engineering
kingce@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Digital teaching/learning, Inclusive teaching, Retention, Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences (CUREs), Active learning

David Kirkby
Professor
Physics
dkirkby@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Digital teaching/learning, Inclusive teaching, Active learning

Daniel Knight
Assistant Teaching Professor
Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
dwknight@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Motivation, Active learning

Joel Lanning
Assistant Teaching Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering
joel.lanning@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Inclusive teaching, Motivation, Active learning, Helping students build expert-like conceptual mental maps

Mo Li
Associate Professor
Civil and Aerospace Engineering
mo.li@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Active learning

Laura Mitchell
Associate Professor
History
mitchell@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Inclusive teaching, Active learning, Community College

Golnaz Nanbakhsh
Academic English
gnanbakh@uci.edu

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Retention, Inclusive teaching, Motivation, Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences (CUREs), Social psychology, Active learning, Mindfulness as a teaching strategy.

Jane Nazzal
Education
mitchell@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Remediation, Retention, Community College, Transfer students

Duncan Pritchard
Professor
Philosophy
dhpritch@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Digital teaching/learning, Motivation, Social psychology, Intellectual skills

Leyla Riley
Director of Academic Innovations
Engineering
leyla.riley@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Active learning, Community College, STEM

Fernando Rodriguez
Assistant Professor
Education
fernanr1@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps; Digital teaching/learning; Motivation; STEAM

Nayssan Safavian
Research Specialist
Education
nsafavia@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Retention, Motivation, Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences (CUREs), Social psychology, STEAM, Community College

Tammy Smecker-Hane
Associate Professor
Physics and Astronomy
tsmecker@uci.edu
Webpage

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Retention, Inclusive teaching, STEAM, Active learning

Justyna Sosna
Postdoctoral Scholar
Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
jsosna@uci.edu

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Digital teaching/learning, Motivation, Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences (CUREs), STEAM, Active learning

Paul Spencer
Program in Academic English
pjspence@uci.edu

Interests: Digital teaching/learning, Inclusive teaching, Motivation, Active learning

Ian Straughn
Anthroplogy
ian.straughn@uci.edu
Website

Interests: Digital teaching/learning, Inclusive teaching, Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences (CUREs), Active learning

Tamara Tate
Postdoctoral Scholar
Education
tatet@uci.edu
Website

Interests: Digital teaching/learning, Motivation, Community College

Cathy Vimuttinan
Academic English
cathy.v@uci.edu

Interests: Digital teaching/learning, Inclusive teaching, Motivation, Social psychology, Active learning

Rahul Warrior
Associate Professor
Developmental and Cell Biology
rwarrior@uci.edu
Website

Interests: Digital teaching/learning, Inclusive teaching, Motivation, Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences (CUREs), Social psychology, Active learning

Ted Wright
Associate Professor
Cognitive Science
cewright@uci.edu

Interests: Reducing equity gaps, Retention, Inclusive teaching, Motivation, Active learning

Audra Yun
Staff
Libraries
aeyun@uci.edu

Interests: Retention, Active learning